Williamson County Tennessee
Part of the American History and Genealogy Project


Early Settlers

Very early settlers began to enter the territory of Williamson before 1800.

David McEwen, of Statesville, North Carolina with several families, moved to Nashville in 1796, but owing to the disturbances by the Indians, did not proceed on their journey till 1798.

Mr. McEwen passed through Hollow Tree Gap and on to Roper's Knob, where he settled. Mr. McEwen was the father of a large and influential family that has been prominent in Williamson County since its inception.

William Demumhane, son of Captain Demumhane, the pioneer settler of Nashville, was born at the mouth of Mill Creek, on the Cumberland, settled near College Grove.

Mr. Sledge, who came to the county about the time of De Munbreun, brought only his wife and a few household utensils on a pack-horse, and settled near Peytonsville.

In 1798 Andrew Goff, William McEwen, George Neeley and a number of others settled on Spence's Creek.

Thomas H. Perkins and Mr. McConnico settled at the fork of the West and Big Harpeth Rivers about 1810.

About the same time came Matthew Johnson and William Edmondson, Thomas Spence, Daniel McMahan and Thomas Williamson each settled on the creek bearing the name of the former in 1800.

Ewen Cameron is said to have built a house in Franklin in 1797.

Abram Maury, upon whose land the city of Franklin was built, and Thomas McKay, at whose house the first court was held, were both residents before 1800.

Byrd Hamlet, who settled near Nolensville, has the credit of having raised the first hogshead of tobacco in Middle Tennessee.

The following persons had made settlements previous to 1800, the most of whom were connected with the county officially:

James Buford
James Scurlock
Nicholas Perkins
Edmond Wall
Chapman White
Solomon Brent
Stephen Childress
William Hulme
William Smith
Sion Hunt
Robert Caruthers
R. P. Currin
Richard Hightower
James Neeley
John Harness

Members of the State Legislature

Robert Weakley, 1801-05
Chapman White, 1805-07
N. T. Perkins, 1807-09
Thomas H. Benton, 1809-11
Newton Cannon, 1811-15
Amos Johnson, 1815-17
John Bell, 1817-19
Joel Parrish, 1819-21
Stealing Brown, 1821-25
Newton Cannon, 1827-29
Robert Jetton, 1829-35
Barclay Martin, 1835-41
W. H. Sneed, 1841 - 45
W. C. J. Burrus, 1851 - 53
P. O. N. Perkins, 1853-57
W. L. McComico, 1857-59
J. W. Richardson, 1859-60
A. W. Mess, 1865-66
W. Y. Elliott, 1867-68
D. M. McFall, 1868-70
T. F. P. Allison, 1871-73
A. T. Boyd, 1875-77
W. D. Fullerton, 1877-79
T. F. Perkins, 1879-81
Abram Maney and J. W. Richardson, 1845-51

House of Representatives

_____ _____ 1801-05;
Chapman White, 1803 - 05
Abram Maney, 1805-07
Moses Frierson, 1807-11
Amos Johnson, 1811-15
William Martin, 1815-21
Abram Maney, Jr., 1821-25
Samuel Perkins, 1825-27
Newton Cannon, 1829-31
R. C. Foster, 1831-35
M. P. Gentry, 1835-39
R. C. Foster, 1839-43
A. P. Maney, 1843-44
David Campbell, 1851-53
Frank Hardeman, 1853-55
C. WT. Beale, 1855-57
W. L. McComico, 1857-58
W. E. Ewing, 1859-60
J. W. Richardson, 1864-65
D. W. McFall, 1885-67
Atha Thomas, 1868-69
Samuel Perkins, 1875-76
F. M. Lavender, 1877-79
T. E. Hayes, 1879-83
S. Venable and R. W. H. Bestick, 1845-46
J. Robison and F. Hardeman, 1847-48
E. Thompson and P. G. S. Perkins, 1849 - 50

Williamson County |  AHGP Tennessee

Source: History of Tennessee, Goodspeed Publishing Company, 1886


Please stop in again!!

Copyright August © 2011 - 2018 AHGP - Judy White
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, don't copy their work.