Tennessee AHGP Information
Dyer County

Dyer, County, Tennessee Situated in the w. part of the state, and contains 840 square miles. It is bounded w. by Mississippi r. Watered by Obion and Forked Deer rivers. The surface is rolling, excepting the flats along the Mississippi r. Capital, Dyersburg. There were in 1840, neat cattle 5,801, sheep 898, swine 2,193; wheat 12,526 bush, produced, Ind. corn 224,505, oats 7,692, potatoes 12,492, tobacco 87,3S0 pounds, cotton 68,651; 5 stores, cap. $13,956; 2 flouring m., 3 grist m., 1 saw m. Cap. in manufac. $4,750. 6 sch. 137 scholars. Pop. 1830, 1,904; 1840, whites 3,427, slaves 1,042, free col'd 15; total, 4,484.

Dyersburg, p-v., Capital of Dyer County, Tennessee, 161 w. Nashville, 844 W. Situated on the n. branch of Forked Deer r., 30 ms. above its entrance into Mississippi r. It contains a court house and several stores and dwellings.


Read More about Tennessee Counties and Towns


©Tennessee American History and Genealogy Project
Created May 10, 2014 by Judy White