Tennessee AHGP
Part of the American History and Genealogy Project


County List

The links to the County Seat, provides a bit of information from Descriptive and Statistical Gazetteer of the United States of America, written in 1840 it gives you an idea of how each of the counties and tows were growing at that time.  Over time I will finish the county seat list, but in the mean time, please check out the link above to the Gazetteer. If you think a State or county would be to much for you, we have other projects, just push our button

County Seat Established
Origin Coordinator
Anderson Clinton 1801 Knox and Grainger Counties  
Bedford Shelbyville 1807 Rutherford County Judy White
Benton Camden 1835 Humphreys County  
Bledsoe Pikeville 1807 Roane County and Indian lands  
Blount Maryville 1795 Knox County Paula Franklin
Bradley Cleveland 1836 Indian lands  
Campbell Jacksboro 1806 Anderson and Claiborne counties  
Cannon Woodbury 1836 Rutherford, Smith and Warren counties  
Carroll Huntingdon 1821 Indian lands  
Carter Elizabethton 1796 Washington County  
Cheatham Ashland City 1856 Davidson, Dickson, Montgomery and Robertson counties  
Chester Henderson 1879 Hardeman, Henderson, McNairy and Madison counties  
Claiborne     Tazewell 1801 Grainger and Hawkins counties Donna Sims Conner
Clay Celina 1870 Jackson and Overton counties  
Cocke Newport 1797 Jefferson County  
Coffee Manchester 1836 Bedford, Warren and Franklin counties  
Crockett Alamo 1871 Haywood, Madison, Dyer and Gibson counties  
Cumberland Crossville 1855 White, Bledsoe, Rhea, Morgan, Fentress & Putnam counties  
Davidson Nashville 1783 Part of North Carolina Judy White
Decatur Decaturville 1845 Perry County  
DeKalb Smithville 1837 Franklin, Cannon, Jackson and White counties Judy White
Dickson Charlotte 1803 Montgomery and Robertson counties  
Dyer Dyersburg 1823 Indian lands  
Fayette Somerville 1824 Indian lands  
Fentress Jamestown 1823 Morgan, Overton and White counties  
Franklin Winchester 1807 Rutherford County and Indian lands Paula & Judy
Gibson Trenton 1823 Indian lands  
Giles Pulaski 1809 Indian lands Judy White
Grainger Rutledge 1796 Hawkins and Knox counties  
Greene Greeneville 1783 Washington County  
Grundy Altamont 1844 Coffee, Warren and Franklin counties  
Hamblen Morristown 1870 Jefferson, Grainger and Greene counties  
Hamilton Chattanooga 1819 Rhea County and Indian lands  
Hancock Sneedville 1844 Hawkins and Claiborne counties  
Hardeman Bolivar 1823 Hardin County and Indian lands  
Hardin Savannah 1819 Indian lands Bill Couch
Hawkins Rogersville 1786 Sullivan County  
Haywood Brownsville 1823 Indian lands  
Henderson Lexington 1821 Indian lands Paula
Henry Paris 1821 Indian lands  
Hickman Centerville 1807 Dickson County  
Houston Erin 1871 Dickson, Humphreys, Montgomery and Stewart counties  
Humphreys Waverly 1809 Stewart County  
Jackson Gainesboro 1801 Smith County and Indian lands  
Jefferson Dandridge 1792 Greene and Hawkins counties  
Johnson Mountain City 1836 Carter County  
Knox Knoxville 1792 Greene and Hawkins counties Donna Sims Conner
Lake Tiptonville 1870 Obion County  
Lauderdale Ripley 1835 Haywood, Dyer and Tipton counties  
Lawrence Lawrenceburg 1817 Hickman County and Indian lands  
Lewis Hohenwald 1843 Hickman, Lawrence, Maury and Wayne counties  
Lincoln Fayetteville 1809 Bedford County Judy & Paula
Loudon Loudon 1870 Roane, Monroe, Blount and McMinn counties Paula
Macon Lafayette 1842 Smith and Sumner counties  
Madison Jackson 1821 Indian lands  
Marion Jasper 1817 Indian lands  
Marshall Lewisburg 1836 Giles, Bedford, Lincoln and Maury counties Judy White
Maury Columbia 1807 Williamson County and Indian lands Judy White
McMinn Athens 1819 Indian lands  
McNairy Selmer 1823 Hardin County  
Meigs Decatur 1836 Rhea County  
Monroe Madisonville 1819 Indian lands  
Montgomery Clarksville 1796 Tennessee County North Carolina Judy White
Moore Lynchburg 1871 Bedford, Lincoln and Franklin counties Judy White
Morgan Wartburg 1817 Anderson and Roane counties  
Obion Union City 1823 Indian lands Bill Couch
Overton Livingston 1806 Jackson County and Indian lands  
Perry Linden 1819 Humphreys and Hickman counties  
Pickett Byrdstown 1879 Fentress and Overton counties  
Polk Benton 1839 McMinn and Bradley counties  
Putnam Cookeville 1854 Fentress, Jackson, Smith, White and Overton counties  
Rhea Dayton 1807 Roane County  
Roane Kingston 1801 Knox County and Indian lands  
Robertson Springfield 1796 Tennessee County NC and Sumner counties Judy White
Rutherford Murfreesboro 1803 Davidson, Williamson and Wilson counties Judy White
Scott Huntsville 1849 Anderson, Campbell, Fentress and Morgan counties  
Sequatchie Dunlap 1857 Hamilton, Marion and Warren counties  
Sevier Sevierville 1794 Jefferson County Paula Franklin
Shelby Memphis 1819 Chickasaw Nation lands  
Smith Carthage 1799 Sumner County and Indian lands  
Stewart Dover 1803 Montgomery County  
Sullivan Blountville 1779 Washington County  
Sumner Gallatin 1786 Davidson County  
Tipton Covington 1823 Shelby County (previously Chickasaw lands)  
Trousdale Hartsville 1870 Wilson, Macon, Smith and Sumner counties  
Unicoi Erwin 1875 Washington and Carter County  
Union Maynardville 1850 Grainger, Claiborne, Campbell, Anderson & Knox counties  
Van Buren Spencer 1840 Warren and White counties  
Warren McMinnville 1807 White, Jackson, Smith counties and Indian lands  
Washington Jonesborough 1777 Part of North Carolina  
Wayne Waynesboro 1817 Hickman County Paula
Weakley Dresden 1823 Indian lands  
White Sparta 1806 Jackson and Smith counties  
Williamson Franklin 1799 Davidson County Judy White
Wilson Lebanon 1799 Sumner County Judy White

AHGP Tennessee

Please stop in again!!

Back to AHGP

Copyright August ©2011~2023 AHGP - Judy White
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, don't copy their work.

This page was last updated 2018.