Robertson County Tennessee
Part of the American History and Genealogy Project

 I am Judy White and presently I am the webmaster of Tennessee.  Would you like the job?  We sure could use some help and an interest in history and genealogy are all that is required!!  If you are interested please go to our Contact Page and send us a message. If your interest doesn't lie in building pages, we have other projects you can contribute to, just click on our button


Upon the establishment of our State, in 1796, one of the three Counties which had been erected in the Cumberland Country by the Legislature of North Carolina, was called Tennessee. When the Convention appropriated the name of the County and gave it to the State, Tennessee County was divided into two distinct counties, one being called Robertson and the other Montgomery. Robertson County was named in honor of Gen. James Robertson, one of the founders of Nashville. It was established by Act of the General Assembly of Tennessee, passed at Knoxville, April, 1796, and is bounded at present as follows: On the north by the State of Kentucky on the east by Sumner, on the south by Davidson and Cheatham, and on the west by Cheatham and Montgomery Counties, having an area of about 330 square miles.

Robertson County was organized at the house of Jacob McCarty, on Sulphur Fork, 1½ miles, west of Springfield, July 18, 1796, the following named gentlemen being commissioned as Justices of the Peace, to wit:

William Fort, Isaac Philips, William Miles, Benjamin Menees, Bazel Boren, Martin Duncan, John Philips, Zebulon B. Hobart, James Crabtree, Charles Miles and Hugh Henry, who took the several oaths required by law.

William Fort was elected Chairman of the Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions; Thomas Johnson, Clerk; Hugh Henry, Sheriff; Bazel Boren. Register; Josiah Fort. Trustee; John Philips, Ranger; Isaac Brown, Coroner; and Stephen Boren, Isaac Menees, Daniel McKindley, William Brown, James Crabtree and John Mercer, Constables in and for said County.

Samuel Donelson, Esq., was appointed County Solicitor. The Court adjourned on the following day to meet at the house of Benjamin McIntosh, October Term, 1796. McIntosh lived north of the site of Springfield about one mile, that is, he is said to have lived there. The Court was held here until April Term, 1798, when it adjourned to meet at the "Town of Springfield," July Term, of the same year.

Cities, Towns and Villages

Adam's Station Barren Plains Blackjack
Cedar Hill Coopertown Cross Plains
Greenbrier Sadlersville Springfield

County Happenings
Beginning Improvements
The First Circuit Court, 1810
Senators and Representatives 1796-1880
Newspapers of Robertson County
County Sheriffs 1796-1880
Revolutionary and Military Pensioners list For Tennessee, June 1, 1840 <New>
Pioneers from Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina 1789-1795
The Bell Witch (just for fun)

Sites we Visit
What's New at AHGP
Military Forts by State
Obituary Resource Center
Native American Resource Center
Natchez Trace

AHGP Tennessee

Thanks for Stopping by
Come Back Soon!!


Copyright August © 2011 - 2023 AHGP - Judy White
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, don't copy their work.